School Board Names New School Administrators

News  |  Published June 5, 2024

Share this article

Following their Tuesday June 4th meeting, the Kershaw County School Board announced several administrative transfers and a new hire for the 2024-2025 school year. Leigh Abee is moving to Lugoff-Elgin High School as an assistant principal, Harriet Boykin-Garity moves to Jackson School as an assistant principal, and Kimm McDonald transfers to Midway Elementary as an assistant principal. Melissa Rabon will serve as an assistant principal at North Central High School.

Leigh Abee has been an administrator in Lugoff-Elgin schools since 2017. Harriet Boykin-Garity has served as the assistant principal at Blaney Elementary School for the past four years. Kimm McDonald has been an assistant administrator at Jackson School for two years and Melissa Rabon is the founding Executive Director of the Palmetto Achievement Center for Excellence (PACE) Academy, a public charter school dedicated to students with dyslexia, in Columbia. Prior to this role, she taught English at Lugoff-Elgin High School for ten years.